Sugar Moon Bakery in Chicago

Sugar Moon Bakery in Logan Square is a small neighborhood bakery that Chef Dina Cimarusti opened in September 2021, and already they have a loyal following and have been recognized as one of the best bakeries in Chicago. They’ve gotten a lot of press since opening, and both their sweet and savory pastries have received a lot of praise.

I was able to visit them recently after a series of flight cancellations from O’Hare. I was first in line at 8:40 a.m. on a cold Saturday morning in February, and by the time they opened at 9 there were already 20-some people in line; I imagine that when the weather is nice the line goes down the block.

I picked up a few items on my visit. Of the five, my favorite was the focaccia, followed by the cloud cookie and then the tahini cookie.

Tiramisu Cloud Cookie ($4), Sweet Scone ($5.25), Sweet Brioche ($5.50), Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookie ($3.75), Focaccia ($5/slice)

The focaccia ($5/slice) comes in several flavors (several of which are seasonally changing). I got a slice with harissa cauliflower, caramelized onion, gouda, cheddar, rosemary. It was really tasty: the crumb is soft and moist, and the crust was super crispy. The flavor had a nice balance of spice, savoriness, and a slight sweetness. Highly recommend! The staff also recommend the eggplant flavor, which I’ll have to try next time I’m in the area if it’s still on the menu.

The Tiramisu Cloud Cookie ($4) was highly recommended by a regular who was behind me in line. This was really interesting, and I definitely recommend trying it. The cookie (which I believe is a soft vanilla cookie) was really soft and delicate, almost foamy: it reminded me of a meringue. The espresso mascarpone cream filling had a strong coffee flavor and wasn’t overly sweet. It really felt like eating a sweet cloud.

The Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookie ($3.75) was really rich, with a soft gooey interior and a slightly crisp top. It’s quite sweet but the sweetness is balanced with smoked sea salt and a nuttiness from the tahini, so it doesn’t feel overwhelming. It’s not hard to see why Chicago Tribune critic Nick Kindelsperger declared this his favorite chocolate chip cookie in Chicago.

The Sweet Brioche ($5.50) I tried had a seasonal cara cara orange & passionfruit filling. I thought it was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The brioche is chewy and yeasty, and slightly sweet with crunchy sugar on top. The passionfruit curd had a subtle passionfruit flavor that didn’t scream passionfruit, and it wasn’t too sweet or too tart.

The Sweet Scone ($5.25) had mixed berries (including strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries) and a lemon passionfruit icing. It was pretty good but not the best scone of my life; the inside is moist but more biscuit-like. One of the staff members told me this was her favorite item here, but I would go with something else over this next time.

Sugar Moon Bakery’s location is a bit out of the way from downtown Chicago, but I think it’s worth the trip if you’re able to stop by. It’s definitely one of the more interesting bakeries I’ve visited recently, and I can’t wait to see what they add to their menu next!


Sugar Moon Bakery
3612 W Wrightwood Ave
Chicago, IL 60647
Instagram @sugarmoonchi
https://www.sugarmoonchicago.com

Leave a comment