Mamiche in Paris

Boulangerie Mamiche is a very popular neighborhood bakery with locations in the 9th and 10th arrondissements. The founders, Victoria Effantin and Cécile Khayat, opened the first location in 2017, and the second location followed two years later.

They make a wide range of products, including several types of bread, viennoiseries, pastries, and sandwiches, and they use high quality ingredients such as AOP Poitou-Charente butter and Valrhona chocolate.

Several of their breads are available by weight, so I tried a few slices.

I liked their muesli bread (15 €/kg). The bread itself is a nice sourdough made with stone ground wheat flour and rye flour, and the dough is laden with dried apricots, pumpkin seeds, cranberries, and roasted oats. The crust is nice and crunchy, and compared to other fruit breads I’ve tried in Paris (including Utopie’s pain muesli) Mamiche’s was better and still had a nice moisture. If you like bread with fruits, I think this is a good option to try.

Tradition chocolat (2,20 €), chou vanille (1 €), babka (18,80 €/kg), pain muesli (15 €/kg), pain noir (11 €/kg), and pain de mie (11 €/kg)

The pain de mie (11 €/kg) was soft and fluffy, with a buttery and slightly sweet flavor and aroma. I think I slightly preferred the version at Le Pain Retrouvé to eat on its own, but I think this would make a good sandwich.

Pain muesli (15 €/kg), pain noir (11 €/kg), and pain de mie (11 €/kg)

After seeing several reviews recommending their Nordic-inspired pain noir (11 €/kg) for breadheads, I definitely had to get it. This is a sourdough bread with rye and spelt flour, with lots of seeds mixed in (pumpkin, sunflower, flax, sesame). It was very seedy and slightly sour, and it also reminded me of a softer version of some German breads. Recommended!

Babka (10,50 €/loaf or 18,80 €/kg)

One of their best sellers is their babka, made of rich brioche dough braided with chocolate. It’s available as a loaf (10,50 €) or by weight (18,80 €/kg), so I got a thin slice. It was very dense, sweet, and fudgy, with a soft and borderline undercooked center that reminded me of an extremely fudgy brownie. Personally, this isn’t my style of babka (I prefer the type at Breads Bakery in Manhattan); it was too rich for me. But it is very popular, so it’s worth trying if you like this style of babka.

Chou vanille (1 €)

The chou vanille (vanilla choux) (1 €) was super delicious and the best single euro I’ve spent. The choux pastry is light and delicious with a super crispy, light crust, and the cream is light and delicious, with a very strong vanilla scent. I honestly can’t think of a better way to spend one euro.

Tradition chocolat (2,20 €)

The tradition chocolat (2,20 €) was a dense chocolate bread with chocolate chips inside. It’s definitely less sweet than the babka and has a slight bitterness, and I preferred this to the babka. The bread itself is dense (from the inclusion of cocoa) and has a deep cocoa flavor and aroma. I wasn’t a fan of the sticky sweet glaze on the surface, but as a whole this was tasty, though I wouldn’t get this again over other items.

I definitely recommend visiting Mamiche if you’re a fan of bread or viennoiseries (or woman-owned businesses!). There are still so many items on the menu that I want to try—including their beignets, cinnamon rolls, and signature sourdough loaf made with Rouge du Roc wheat flour and chestnut honey)—I’m strongly regretting my limited stomach space on my first visit, and I’ll definitely be back on my next visit to Paris.


Mamiche
45 Rue Condorcet, 75009 Paris, France, +33 1 53 21 03 68
32 Rue du Château d’Eau, 75010 Paris, France, +33 1 42 08 42 02
Instagram @boulangeriemamiche
https://www.mamiche.fr/

One comment

Leave a comment